The State Duma approved the elimination of constitutional courts of the Russian republics

The draft law envisaging the elimination of constitutional courts in the republics of the Russian Federation was adopted in the second reading by the lower house of the Russian parliament on November 17, the press service of the State Duma of the Russian Federation reported.

The constitutional and the statutory courts of the constituent entities of the Russian Federation should be abolished by January 1, 2023. At the same time, in return, regional legislative bodies will be able to create special councils with similar powers.

Constitutional and statutory courts deal with cases on compliance with the regional constitution or the charter of normative legal acts issued by the state authorities in the regions.

The acting constitutional and statutory courts in the constituent entities of the Russian Federation actually function in 13 constitutional and 3 statutory courts.
Constitutional courts of the republics: Adygea, Bashkortostan, Dagestan, Ingushetia, Kabardino-Balkaria, Karelia, Komi, Mari El, Sakha (Yakutia), North Ossetia - Alania, Tatarstan, Chechnya. 
Statutory courts of territories and regions: Kaliningrad region, Sverdlovsk region and city of St. Petersburg.