EU leaders agree to extend sectoral sanctions against Russia

Due to the lack of progress in the implementation of the Minsk agreements, the heads of state and governments of the European Union countries agreed to extend the sectoral sanctions imposed on Russia in 2014 for violating the territorial integrity of Ukraine. German Chancellor Angela Merkel announced this decision following a video conference of EU leaders on Friday, June 19. 

Economic sanctions against Russia are valid until July 31. Now their extension for another six months should be officially approved by the EU Council. Sectoral sanctions include a ban on access to the EU capital market for several Russian banks and companies, an embargo on the supply of arms and dual-use goods to the Russian Federation, as well as restricting access to technology in the energy sector, in particular oil production in deep-sea, Arctic and offshore fields.